Where are you from?

Witchia, Kansas

Where do you live now?

La Plata County near Ignacio, Colorado.

How long have you and your family been involved in Farm Bureau?

I have been a member since 2004 and have been active on our county board for 7 years.

What kind of agriculture operation are you involved in?

My husband and I grow and sell hay as well as run a horse boarding business. During the summer, I ride my Appaloosa horse 100 miles on the┬áChief Joseph Trail, which will take 13 years to complete, being it’s 1,300 miles long! Then, I ride a different horse another 100 miles on the Colorado Trail. These are back to back rides.

Working in agriculture not only takes an extreme amount of work, but it takes a whole lotta soul. What keeps you involved in agriculture?

I love of the lifestyle and enjoy improving the land, working with animals and leaving this place better than I found it. As part of our operation, I enjoy feeding livestock — all the way from getting off the running tractor to jumping on back to throw hay off. This goes on all winter and through spring.

What Farm Bureau committees/programs have you been involved in?

I am involved on the county board as treasurer and I serve on the Women’s Leadership Committee.

What motivates you to be involved in Farm Bureau?

Farm Bureau supports rural values which are very important to me. I also enjoy associating with like minded folks. I have a lot in common with other Farm Bureau members, unlike some of our city and county neighbors.

What is your favorite CFB program/event/activity that you have participated in?

I really enjoy the National Women’s Leadership Fusion Conference, summer tours and the Legislative Summit/Ag Day at capitol.

Favorite CFB memory?

The motivational presenters at Fusion Conference were outstanding!

What other leadership roles/organizations are you a part of?

I am on the Four Corners Back Country Horsemen board of directors, the audit committee for Spring Creek Ditch, Co., I am a Sunday School teacher and I help plan and execute events at the local community center. The community center is just down the road. Initially the building was in very bad shape and my husband Charly and I led a group of people to completely restore it. I enjoy putting together family dances at the center (we still put on a few ever year). The most popular dance is a Cowboy Christmas Ball and dinner.

Where did you go to school? What did you study?

I attended Fort Lewis College and earned an education degree.

What are some of your future goals when it comes to agriculture?

I hope to help sustain our rural lifestyle and help non agriculture folks to understand and appreciate the industry.